Many students try so hard to achieve high grades in school, but are grades really encouraging for students? Personally, I believe that grades stimulate students to learn better. I think this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, students need some feedback to improve their work. It is usually tricky for students to find out whether they are on the right path or not; the feedback they receive from their teachers can gear them toward the right track. Grading is one possible way to inform students of their current status. Thereby, based on this information, students can understand whether they need to change their studying strategies or not. My personal example is a compelling illustration of this. Years ago, when I was an elementary student, despite the fact that I had done all of the practices correctly, I got a low grade for one of my math assignments. The problem was that I didn't include the problem-solving process in the assignment and solved them without a specific process. At first, I got angry and disappointed; however, now, I know that the grade was necessary for me in order to refine my study habits.

Secondly, students need rewards for their efforts. Grades can be worthwhile rewards and can increase students' self confidences. Pupils with higher self confidences have more willing to learn study materials more comprehensively. For instance, when I went to school, achieving a high score was one of the most effective motivations for me. I would become very pleased when I received high grades. And the happiness obtained from these rewards would make me feel fresh and excited. Also, it is worth mentioning that receiving rewards is necessary for students' mental health. It has been proved that when we receive rewards, our brains release some chemical that makes us feel excited and thrilled.

In summary, scores are pretty beneficial for students' learning, in my opinion. I feel this way because these grades can provide students with noteworthy feedback and because students need high grades in order to learn that their efforts will be rewarded.