Many teachers assign homework to students every day. Do you think that daily homework is necessary for students?

I think homework is necessary, in moderation, for every student to help them understand better, the concepts learned in the school. There were many positive results for student by doing homework, which are stated below.

First, by doing homework, a student will do a lot of thinking over the subject that s/he learned for that particular day. during this time, s/he may get lots of doubts on the topic and eventually gets clarified by the teacher the next day of the school. For instance, when a students learns how to do GCD (greatest common factor)in the maths class on a particular day, during the homework session, he might get lots of doubts, like how to do prime factorization of two numbers etc! Then the student will seek help either from teacher, or from others in order to clarify the doubts raised. this helps the students in strengthening the understanding of the concept that he learned.

Second, by working out different example problems and variations of the concept, the student is getting lots of practice and eventually masters the subject learned. The practice he does at home, will help him in remembering the concepts for a long time. To illustrate, a chemistry teacher may not be able teach all the different variations of the redox chemical reactions; s/he will teach the basics of the redox reactions and might give different possible variations as a homework task to practice at home. this will make the student in working out different possible variations of the concept, and also helps in remember these concepts in long run.

However, some might argue that, doing daily home work, might eat of a lot of precious evening time, which the student should utilize in extra curricular activities. I agree to this point, as sometimes it might burden the student with lots of daily homework, sometimes from multiple subjects. this might hinder the students' interest towards learning. The school curriculum, should be properly designed, in order to balance both studies and other activities.

In conclusion, I would recommend homework to the students, but in moderation. giving daily homework might have adverse effects on the student. S/he might change his attitude towards learning. schools and colleges have an important role in developing the curriculum for the all-round development of the child.