Movies and television programs have more negative effect than positive effect on the way young people behave.

Watching movies and television programs is conducive to soothing our minds for people to relax in this mobile internet time, especially people are now under heavy pressure. However, recently there arouse a heated argument on whether watching movies or television programs is overwhelm beneficial for young people. Many claims that it’s waste of time for the young, while others hold that there are not disadvantages for young people spending time on TVs and movies. To me, I am inclined to the former one, My point of view will be illustrated comprehensively through following reasons.

To start with, movies, I strongly believe, are a terrific outlet for young people to release their pressures. According to a famous theory advanced in the twentieth century, humans have a gift for fantasy, through which we seek to reshape our realities in to more satisfying forms than those encountered in our daily life. The fantasy permits us to objectify our anxieties, worries, and pain, confront them, and fulfill their best wishes in a movie or a television program if no fact. Thus, movies and television programs are regarded as tools for us to escape the unpleasant realities for a while.

Secondly, movies and TV programs are directly beneficial to young people. For example, by appreciating documentaries young people are subconsciously learning new things and broadening their visions. To be specific, the Big Short explains extensively about the 2008 economic crisis, therefore reducing the possibility of young people being duped by financial traps made by the wall street.

It’s worth noting that the negative effects of watching movies and TV programs are not ignorable. For people at young ages, they might not have well-developed self-control capabilities and are prone to be addictive to these shows and movies. Furthermore, now most TV shows and movies are produced in series, which seduce young people to keep following up, who then spend much time on them rather than devote themselves into study and career. But as they grow up, with more mature personalities, they are able to overcome these limitations.

To sum up, in term of young people, I am of belief that the positive effects of watching movies and television programs outweigh it’s negative sides. It has been well elaborated by the reasons and examples I discussed above.