Nowadays, children rely too much on the technology, like computers, smart phone, video games, for fun and entertainment. Playing simpler toys or playing outside with friends would be better for the children's development.

Abundant novelties have sprung up since the Industrial Revolution. The development of technology inevitably reshapes our lives. We take trains or flights instead of taking several months to walk to a remote place, and likewise we spend our child life with more technology, like computers, smartphones, video games rather than playing outside. I think it's perfectly normal to rely more on technology for us, including children.

Admittedly, some children rely too much on the technology due to lack of self-discipline. They spend hours a day staring the screen, causing damage to their eyes. Indulging in virtual world like video games, some are detached from reality. If the video games are teeming with gratuitous violent contents, they maybe go astray, even commit juvenile delinquency.

However, not only do technology contribute to promoting children’s intellectual development, but it also improves their mental satisfaction. Resources on the Internet satisfy children’s curiosity, expand their outlook and inculcate knowledge so that children can figure out what they really interest and foster new skills. For example, an eight-year boy who was first arrested by programming from iTunes U, an app in iPhone, and then was adept in it after watching online courses was invited to the Apple Conference given several excellent apps he designed for iPhone. Had he played his phone without enough time to encounter that course, he would have been passed up the opportunity to fulfill his potential as well as feel the sense of achievement.

In addition, what about children they can contact in reality do not share the interests with them? In this case, technology is of great value to seek for congenial friends. Take my brother as an example. Comments on a website about a book that no kids around him were acquainted with it linked him with another reader. They ended up good friends by virtue of phones and computers.

There is no doubt technology has side effects. The effects technology has hinge on whether their parents give them right instructions to utilize it properly and make a balance between playing with electronic products and playing without them since children are still in their formative years.