Nowadays, with the invention of the microwave and with the popularity of fast food restaurants, food has become easier to prepare than ever. Do you think microwave ovens and fast food restaurants are beneficial to society? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays people are always busy. Whether they are working too hard or have other significant things going on in their life, many simply can not find the time to prepare their own food. To this problem, one can find widespread solutions such as the microwave or fast food restaurants. Myself, I find consuming fast food or using the microwave on a regular basis a bit problematic.

First, as we all know, fast food usually leads to obesity. that is because we usually do not know how the food is made by the restaurant or what are the components of the dish, which could comprise too much sugar or unhealthy oil. An excellent example for an obese caused by fast food is my older sister, dana. dana worked intensively during her internship at the hospital, and was living only from junk food. she gained 35 pounds in one year!

In addition, eating constantly fast food is simply a waste of money. Sure, one could find a place that is more affordable, but in the end, the aggregate sum is higher than buying your grocery at the supermarket. For instance, my total at the supermarket per week is 20 Euro. this allows me to eat healthy and good for the whole week whereas this sum will be sufficient for barely two visits at the fast food stands.

Last but not least, I find cooking as a fun activity. I strongly believe that people who do not cook are passing the great part of their day. For me it is excellent time to relax and forgot from all my surroundings, and my friend Linda, for example, will agree with me. two years ago she was really depressed. she did not passes the collage entry exams nor she could not find a job. cooking was the one thing that helped her. she told me, that every time she cooked, she was relaxed, and she could think efficiently what to do next with her life.

In conclusion, although I do not think we should all avoid eating fast food for good, for all of the reasons mentioned above, I think that preparing our meals can benefit us in matter of physical and mental health.