Nowadays many high schools and universities require students to work on projects in groups, and all members of the group receive the same grade (mark) on the project. Do you agree or disagree that giving every member of a group the same grade is a good way to evaluate students?

Undoubtedly, group activities are significantly important for students, leads them to be more interactive and communicative to others in their future professional and personal life. In this regard, they should be taught the best ways of group working at school. Although some may believe teachers should evaluate groups entirely, and grade all members same, I personally think that it would be an asset for students to be assessed individually as the group members. I will clarify my reasons in the following essay.

To begin with, by assessing the group as an indvidual, teachers may cause some of group members to ignore their duties. To be more especific, when students know that they are not going to be graded seperately, they may not define duty for each member of the group. Thus, there is no balance in the amount of work that each person has to do. This may even cause debates and controversies among students, which surely may reduce the group's efficiency. On the other hand, when every body knows that each group member will be evaluated individually they may divide the work for each person, so that person is responsible for that particular part, and eventually will be graded based on that. As a result, teachers would be better to separately score each student in a group.

In addition, grading each person differently may increase the competition between each member, which brings about a significant efficiency for the group. In fact, students usually try to be the best in a class, and show their availabilities to other students and teachers. So, in a group they will also do their best to get the highest score. Conversely, when every single memeber of the group is dedicated with a same score, students may lose their incentive to compete with others. Consequently, less competitions in the group, less group efficiency.

To sum up, I am totally convinced that teachers and professors should assess their students individuallu and based on their performance in the group, not only because thay may prevent some group members from ignoring their duties but also bacause they may enhance the group efficiency by making a competitive environment.