Nowadays many high schools and universities require students to work on projects in groups and all members of the group receive the same grade mark on the project Do you agree or disagree that giving every member of a group the same grade is a good way to

Some people believe that team working is a great way for students to learn to work together as a group helping each other. Although working in groups is a good habit and makes pupils ready for future jobs they will get, because we all mostly work in jobs requiring team skills, I strongly disagree with how the projects are graded equally for all of the members of the team for three reasons put forth as follows.

First of all, evaluating every member of the group with the same grade is not fair. Some individuals of the team may work less or do their jobs weakly. While other members may do their best to give a better report of what they do. As a result, giving the members an equal mark seems unfair. For example, if leader of the team compensates for the jobs that must be done by another team member, then how we can consider a single and equal score for all of them? So, it is better to mark them according to their efforts rather than just by participating in a team.

Second of all, current education system is based on reward-punishment strategy. Accordingly, if a student performs well, he is encouraged by getting high marks. We can generalize this situation to group work too. For example, if we punish lethargic students, who do not do what they have to, then we will make them do their responsbilites. Otherwise, we can not force them to do their business in groups they belong to. Hence, when we consider this important point, though it is a hard thing to accomplish, everyone in the group will try to do their part and get works done to get a high score.

Last but not least, every student will hold a position in the future in society. If he or she knows from his education time that everyone gets as much work as he or she has done, then we will have a successful companies and productive society at the end. But, grading every member the same mark goes against this. Thus, it is beneficial for students themselves and society as well to make them accountable for what they proceed.

In conclusion, even though some may argue that every person of a group must recieve the same score, I mostly refute this for three reasons mentioned above.