Nowadays, people are too obsessed with buying and acquiring material things such as expensive clothes because they think that people around them will judge them based on what they possess.

It goes without saying that in this materialistic world, where we live, possessions are the most important part of our lives. There has been a controversial debate among thinkers as to whether people living in the past did not care about their appearance and possessions as much as today's people do. From my perspective, nowadays people are so superficial and materialistic, and two reasons to support my view are presented as follows.

To begin with, by the economic flourish after industrial civilization, people were able to live in affluent societies in which they could buy whatever they wanted. It is not a secret to anyone that poverty prevents people from spending huge amount of their money on unnecessary materials such as expensive watches or a lot of different clothes since they have to meet their basic and important ends. Providing more job opportunities in cities, factories stimulated farmers to send their children to cities or even migrate to metropolitans areas in order to take the advantage of new job to facilitate the way that they were living; having a lot of row material, manufactures could have paid employees more money meaning in addition to fulfilling financial obligation people were able to buy various commodities. As a result people started to show their superiority by dressing differently every day or having expensive furniture in their houses. As you can see, by the decline of poverty rate in recent centuries, people have become vigorous to buy costly objects and to show themselves off.

Furthermore, in the present time, moral concepts and principles have changed over time, thus people have different point of views. It is crystal clear that humans are growing every moment in terms of scientific, religious, culture and so on. Valuable concepts are not exceptions in such alterations since we are witnessing that previous generation and young generation are completely different from each other especially in their beliefs and way of thoughts. I am of the opinion that today's young generation do not appreciate an easy and simple way of living they have more expectations from the world. To put it in more vivid picture, my grandmother told me a story about their lives, according to my grandmother, having a lot of expensive and prohibitive possessions was rude in her time because people especially wealthy ones should have helped poor people instead of buying unnecessary expensive things, they believed that it is the responsibility of the rich to help others in order to make this world a better place for living, by the time this notion have changed. No longer do people care about other individuals. Had my grandmother's belief remained in this time, we would not see such materialistic world.

In sum, not only have people experienced living in prosperity, they have also changed their mind about some disciplines such as helping poor people to escape from the clutches of poverty.