Nowadays, in some colleges or universities, professors prohibit students from using electronic devices ( such as computers, laptops and smart-phones ) that can help them to connect to the internet while the class is going on. Do you think it is a good idea and why? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Nowadays, with the development of technology, there is an increasing number of students using electronic devices in class, however,some professors contend that these devices distract the students from learning and they suggest to inhibit the use of electronic devices in class. Personally speaking, I cannot agree with this opinion and there are a couple of reasons accounting for my view.

Initially, electronic devices are conducive to the students’ study. Since the burgeoning development of Internet and technology, a sea of documents and book are digitized, hence, with the help of devices connecting to the Internet, the students can obtain more sources from online database to have a better understanding of the knowledge with the efficient accesses. The research conducted to examine the students’ capability to master a new terminology demonstrates that the students who have more accesses toward the Internet can understand the definition more efficiently and clearly, since they take advantage of the resources from the Internet to search the explicit explanation of the definition and explore divergent theories to complete their understanding of it. Conversely, those students without the access to the Internet seem to have difficulty in understanding the definition, since it is time-consuming to search explanation in the traditional approaches and they cannot finish the task in limited time. Therefore, it is indispensable to use the electronic devices in the class to reinforce the students’ comprehension and it also facilitates the teaching assignment of professors.

What’s more, using electronic devices is also a terrific approach to manage their notes and reading texts. To be more specifically, instead of writing notes by hand, students can use the electronic devices to take notes and share their notes with each other, which enables them to cooperate accomplish the outline of the lecture used for their reviewing and knowledge digestion, which not only boosts their efficiency but also decreases their strain from the school assignments. For instance, as a foreign student, I cannot follow the professor’s completely, which gives rise to my misunderstanding of what the professor said. Nevertheless, if I can use the electronic devices in the class, I can obtain help from my classmates by receiving the notes they share to me on the Internet or searching explanation on the Internet, which helps me to catch up with the pace of teaching, instead of asking the professor for a further explanation after the class.

Admittedly some students are glued to the screen instead of listening to the lecture carefully, however, the absent-minded phenomenon cannot be addressed by the prohibition of the use of electronic devices, because it merely poses more burden on the students who are enthusiastic about learning.

In a nutshell, it is not essential for professors to prohibit students from using electronic devices, since the electronic devices have become components of students’ studying and their academic performance would suffer without the help of electronic devices.