OG1 - Some young adults want independence from their parents as soon as possible. Other young adults prefer to live with their families for a longer time. Which of these situations do you think is better?

It goes without saying that in this progressive and complicated world in which we are living, being independence free people to deliberately choose what they want and opt for their desired lifestyle. In this regard, young people always concern whether to live their parents as early as possible or stay longer with them. Personally speaking, I prefer to live with my family for a longer time, and the reasons to substantiate my notions are elaborated upon hereunder.

Firstly, the longer an individual lives with his family, the less financial problems he will face in his life. Young adults need to have time and support to take some risks in order to set up their own businesses. As long as one has the support of and reliance on family wealth, he feels freer to act as he wishes without the fear of loss and financial failure. For example, ten years ago, my ambitious eighteen-year-old brother separated from us, seeking his independence, declaring that we would never need his parent financial support since he was an independent person. He was a talented person and smart enough to set up his private business; however, he failed in his first attempt to start his own job; moreover, he lost almost everything he has saved, and had no one to financially support him. Finally, with no reliance upon his family, he forced to start working in a restaurant as a delivery service,

and lost all his dreams.

Secondly, while the young generation tends to study for higher education, they need more time to dedicate to their research and spend less time doing home affairs like dusting, cooking, sweeping and washing the dishes. To make it clear, when a university student decides to live independently, he is responsible for doing all the tasks and duties related to his home. While there is a wide range of tasks to be done and doing each of them needs spending lots of time, the less time is available for him to do his assignments and research. In contrast, those who live with their family can divide the duties with others and work less in the home. A personal example can drive this notion home. Ten years ago, when I was a university student, I had a classmate who rented a flat in Tehran, the capital of Iran, to feel more liberty and live independently. Although he was a smart student, he always had difficulties cooking meals, washing the dishes, sweeping the floor, and maintaining other facilities. Therefore, he had less time to study his lessons compared to me who had many less daily tasks in my parents home. Finally, I had a better performance at the university and got a higher GPA in comparison with his.

In conclusion, although some young adult prefers to leave their family sooner to catch their independent lives, I believe that living longer with family is more beneficial since there will be more financial support from the parents, and also, more time is released through dividing home duties among all the family members.