One could learn a lot about a person from the type of friends the person has.

Friends play a pivotal role in everyone's life. We can affect our friends easily and be influenced by our friends sometimes. People possess different opinions on whether one could learn about a person from the type of friends the person has. From my perspective, the kinds of friends a person has can reflect what type of person he is, because they have the same personality and interests.

First and foremost, it is obvious that friends share the same characteristic. In such a hectic life, people need someone who can understand their feelings to mitigate their pains and bad moods. So in this condition, friendships begin to burgeon. To elucidate, take my own experience. When I was in college, I was an introversive student. I did not incline to join associations and parties, so that I felt lonely all the time. Then I met some introverts who can understand my pain of being isolated. Therefore, we became close to each other after we shared our thoughts and the feeling of being isolated. To be more specific, we became friends as we have the same characteristic.

Secondly, it is safe to say that friends have the same interests. In many cases, people become to be buddies after they find out they love the same sport or instrument. Thus, they will have more common topics. For instance, I was a fanatic basketball fan when I studied in high school. But almost none of my classmates like playing basketball. One day when I was training alone on the playground, I met Barry who was also enthusiastic about basketball. We had a lot of common topics like NBA matches, our favorite players etc. As a result, we became good friends since we share the same hobbies.

Admittedly, it can be said that all of friendships are not related to our internal needs. Sometimes humans approach others to obtain an external purpose like mutual benefits. However, most of people tend to make friends who have the same tastes and value, so we can learn about a person by knowing his friends.

To conclude, it might be true that one cannot learn all parts of a person through his friends. However, there is sufficient evidence to prove that one is able to learn a lot about someone from the type of friends this person has.