At one high school, more of its students than ever before have been caught cheating on their homework assignments. For example, many students have asked other students to provide them with answers for assignments. The school is considering making a change to help decrease the number of students who cheat on homework. Which one of the following actions do you think will be most effective and why?

asking parents to monitor their children as they do their homework and confirm that their children have not cheated

increasing the penalty (punishment) for cheating

asking teachers to create homework assignments that will make it more difficult for students to cheat

Teachers always have been concern about the approaches they use in order to treat the students who cheat on homework. They evaluate the pros and cons of different choices to make the best decision about such students. Some ways which teacher can prevent students from cheating are including engaging parents to assure that students have not cheated, augment of penalties, or creating difficult to cheat homework. I, for one, believe that assigning difficult to cheat homework is the best choice, for two conspicuous reasons which I elaborate on in the following paragraphs.

First and foremost, when assignments are difficult to cheat, students know that cheating is nothing but wasting time. Students cheat because they are reluctant to spend time on their homework and prefer to do other activities like video games, hanging out with friends, sleeping a lot, to name but a few. If they will assign to do some tasks that make cheating impossible, they inevitably do their own homework. A personal example can drive this notion home. When I was a student at school, my mathematic teacher tried to prevent us from copying the answer and cheating. Therefore, she had made a list of questions and each of us had to solve a given number of them. Since we had to answer our certain questions, we did not waste our time on cheating and spent the time only on our own questions.

Second, when students know that the questions are difficult to cheat, a sense of competition will blossom in the class because they want to present their abilities to their teacher. All students have a deep inclination to represent themselves as a creative and hard-work student. However, if the assignment is cheatable, they cannot show their teacher how they care about homework because all the students cheat and render the same answers. Therefore, creating uncheatable homework, teachers can provide the class with more competition, and the more competitive a class is, the more productivity it has. For example, in the mathematic class that was mentioned above, all of us tried to use function and formulas so as to give the best solution because we wanted to stay the best one in the teacher’s mind.

In conclusion, taking all the information mentioned above into account, I do believe that the most effective way to deal with the students who cheat on their homework is providing difficult to cheat assignments. In this way, not only do students avoid wasting time on cheating, but they also try to have a better performance than their classmates, which is beneficial for their progress.