Which of the following is the most effective way for parents to get children (aged 3-6) ready for

the start of the school?

Providing appropriate books for children to learn how to read

Reading books aloud for children

Improving children's communication skill by engaging in conversation with adult

Making children prepared for starting school is a challenging process for parents. Parents use different approaches to get their children ready for going to school. One group, using some books, prefer to learn their kids how to read. Another group read the books for their children loudly so as to make them interested in reading. Others think reinforcing communication skills by making opportunity of talking with adults can be an effective way to make them ready to start school. I, personally, believe that starting school goes smoothly if children have strong communication skill. I have two significant reasons for my idea that I will elaborate on which in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, one of the most important problems which children have with starting school is being reluctant to attend to a new environment which they do not know anyone there. When parents make their children involved in the discussion at home, they learn children how to make a desirable conversation with others. Therefore, children gradually find that they can talk about everything with everyone and the fear of starting a conversation and socializing with strange people will be faded. To be more specific, the more ability to socialize and communication skill, the less fear about being present in a new circumstance. These children who have endowed the ability to talk with others properly are less likely to be deserved in the class and they can enjoy spending time with other students in the class.

Second, talking with children and listening to them in the family, give them a great opportunity to learn how to express their opinion about a given subject. Discussion about the material in the class and exchanging ideas are indispensable factors in the learning process. It is crystal clear that children who talk about their misunderstanding easily, are more successful in the class. Moreover, involving children in different discussion at home broadens their horizon, and make them capable to analyze the information which comes to them. In this circumstance, since they have experienced evaluation of the pros and cons of various ideas at home, they can make more logical consequences from discussions in the class and it is beneficial to their education.

In conclusion, with two aforementioned reasons taken into account, I do believe that the best way to make children ready to start school is strengthening their communication skills. Through this way, not only do not children have fear about the space of the school, but they also learn lessons in a better way because of their ability to think about the concepts and expressing their own ideas.