At one high school, more of its students have been caught cheating on their homework assignments than ever before. The school is considering making a change to help decrease the number of students who cheat on homework. Which ONE of the following actions do you think will be most effective, and why? Asking parents to monitor their children as they do their homework and confirm that their children have not cheated; Increasing the penalty (punishment) for cheating; Asking teachers to create homework assignments that will make it more difficult for students to cheat.

Various kinds of school assignments are created to evaluate the academic performance of students. But sometimes students try to copy their peers' work to gain good marks. In this regard, some people think that students should be penalized or assigned more difficult works. On the other hand, some people contend that parents should be asked to monitor them and make them understand their fault. Well, personally, I would concur with the latter opinion, that students should be made to realize by their parents since parents can be their best guides. I think this is the best option due to two major reasons and examples that will substantiate my stance.

First, parents can supervise their students in the best way because children spend most of their time with their parents at home. As a result, parents can keep an eye on them while they are completing their homework. Students are more attached to their parents and obey them the most. Hence, parents can first make them realize their mistake and then motivate them to work hard. They can explain to them in a better way, either emotionally or through their past experiences, the importance of working hard.

Second, school-going students are not mature enough to value money, as they are fully dependent on their parents for all their expenses. Even if they are penalized, they wouldn’t be much affected. Consequently, they will not find themselves as guilty or feel like doing something wrong. My past experience at school is a good case in point. Few students in our class were caught cheating, so they were charged with a heavy fine. But, in spite of this they were very happy that they got away with this situation so easily and didn’t regret at all.

In conclusion, I would reaffirm my point that if students are found cheating, then their parents should be informed and asked to help their children realize their mistake. This is because the parents are the closest to their children and know them the best, and also because children are too young to be penalized or work harder. Therefore, due to the aforementioned reasons, the decision to allow parents to handle this matter is the right one.