One of the most challenging problems in modern society is to have the most up-to-date skills for the workplace. For solving this, the government decides to give all adults over the age of 25 a training course to learn new skills. Do you think it is an effective way for the government to spend its money?

Nowadays, we are facing a world in which skill is trumping educational degrees. In fact, most of the thriving companies put a premium on the abilities you have. As a result, we see that some governments allocate a budget to upskilling employees. I am personally a proponent of this idea.

To begin with, technology is changing fast and is invading industries that have ended up with a cut-throat competition among companies. consequently, businesses should run up-to-date courses for their staff to manage to produce high-quality products. Besides, with respect to the emergence of some new technologies such as artificial intelligence or virtual reality, new roles have emerged which require special skills. since given that new technologies are becoming imperative to industries, the workforce should learn new abilities to be able to apply new technologies. In other words, due to technological development, today’s skills might be obsolete tomorrow. consequently, firms should train their employees in order to safeguard their businesses. Furthermore, because people are being faced to a complex world, their expectation is growing and getting complicated. To satisfy their demands, we need to either hire adept staff or provide training courses. should we choose the former, we should keep changing our workforce thanks to the fast pace of the modern era. As a result, I hold that the second option is more practical and functional.

second, according to research, training courses can increase job satisfaction which in turn increases workers’ productivity. In other words, on-the-job training broadens their understanding of their job that can assist them to make decisions as to whether stay in or leave their current job. also, these courses can raise their motivation leading them to put more effort into their tasks. Moreover, since the workforce under the age of 25 is graduated later than the older ones, they might have knowledge about recent changes in industries which has positive effects on their performance in the workplace. Hence, I maintain that corporations should instruct the longer-service staff in order to run a fair competition among all employees.

To make a long story short, not only do training courses result in the personal development of the workforce, but they also contribute to the growth of corporations. given that, a significant amount of money should go to on-the-job training. In addition, I strongly believe that these courses should not be exclusive to the older staff. In fact, there are some skills such as soft skills which all employees should attend.