In order to become financially responsible adults, children should learn to manage their own money at a young age.

Managing one's money, namely, finance management, is an indispensable skill for modern people. When it comes to whether children at young age should be taught how to manage their money, people hold different opinions. From some people perspective, learning this skill as early as possible is beneficial for children to become financially responsible people in the future. Contrary to their opinion is my viewpoint that it is not advisable for children to master how to manage money at a young age.

Among all the reasons why they are not suitable to learn finance management, the most important one is that they are too young to be competent to learn such a complex and advanced skill, which is even a challenge for excessive adults. Managing money means a child cannot purchase what they want. Otherwise, they may fail the process. However, most children are not competent to control their desire and on the contrary, they have a even stronger desire to make purchase of something when their parents do not allow them to buy. Consequently, managing money will render children upset and frustrated, leading to negative influence on children's mental health. For example, I have read a story in the newspaper, in which a little boy at the age of seven was required to manage his money well. The boy's mother demanded him to make records about every thing he bought and to evaluate whether the thing was worth buying or not. Sometimes. the boy was blamed by his mother owing to some toys, which were considered useless by his mother while loved by himself. Such a kind of conflict greatly contributed to the fact that the boy leaded a extremely frustrated life in his childhood. As a result, he failed to become a financially responsible person when he grew up, but a person who purchased everything he wanted.

In addition, another reason why children should not learn to manage money revolves around the stress suffered by parents. There is well-acknowledged that parents are the first teachers for youngsters, teaching their children the basic skills like eating, walking and speaking and introducing the social norms to their youngsters. All these tasks require parents a huge amount of time and energy, giving rise to the tiresome of parents. Hence, parents will undergo more pressure if required to teach children how to manage their money. Take the mother of one of my classmates Linda as an example. When Linda was eight, her mother started to teach her how to manage her money. Even her mother was patient and careful, Linda had hard time managing money successfully.

In conclusion, learning how to manage money do harm to both children and parents. So I oppose the children should learn how to manage money at a young age.