In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

It is often argued that in the past young people overly depended on their parents to make decisions while today's youths are more autonomous. Regardless of the disagreement, young people always need a reference to guide them in life and help them make plausible decision to reach their goals. Nonetheless, I believe today's youths take more independent decisions because they are more educated and have more connections.

In the past decades, education has become a prevalent entity in many countries. As such, many youths learned how to deal with different situations in life. They learned how to reach their goals through diligence and how they can use other's experiences who they have met in the high school or university. However, it was not the case in the past because in that era parents were their single source of information. Parents also did not have enough education to guide their children in every aspect. What the parents know was mostly came from their own experiences in a particular matter while the educational system gathered best cases in each area and taught them to our young people.

Nowadays young people are more connected to other people which allow them not to solely rely on their parents. They have access to the Internet so they can use many experts to help them make a decision. For instance, If a person wants to migrate to another country, his parents cannot help him much, but a person in the destination country can actually help him make a wise decision.

Overall, young individuals have access to education and different means of communication. As a result, they can use what they have learned in school or university. In addition, they have access to others experience through the Internet to make a decision.