People learn things better from those at their own level - such as fellows or co-workers-than from those at higher level, such as teachers or supervisors.

Opinions vary with the regard to the question of whether people should learn from close relatives or take into account the wisdom of grown-ups or supervisors. Although the opinions of teachers and supervisors based on their experience are highly valuable, I dare say that learning things from co-workers and generating ideas with fellows, who are not afraid of making their own mistakes, has its benefits. I firmly believe, that in order to succeed the one should behave appropriately with relatives in accordance with their “generation rules”.

To begin with, the opinions of experienced people, such as teachers or supervisors, are unquestionably valuable and should be taken into account. Their personal experience and special knowledge may foster the decrease in number of mistakes, which are taken by inexperienced people. For example, the supervisor or mentor may boost one’s career development through providing considerable number of valuable advises on the steps which should be taken further. Moreover, the lack of life experience make it hardly possible to make right career choices without comprehensive understanding of the possible consequences and results of those steps.

Nonetheless, learning things on one’s own level, cooperating with co-workers and fellows has its clear benefits. Making own mistakes usually is a more valuable thing and the easiest way to exclude repetition of them in the future. To be specific, the one’s life provides more lessons than a life of a teacher or a mentor, who obtained their personal life experience through making their own choices or taking advises from their relative or ancestors. Indeed, the more mistakes a person makes on his own, the better he understands the possible solutions of this mistakes.

In addition, the fellows usually better understand the generation with whom people on their level cooperate and may behave more appropriately than supervisors may advise them to behave. Hence, in order to grow in a company where bosses are relatively young, one should behave himself in a specific manner, which might significantly differ from those of teacher’s. Generations change rapidly and their habits so too. The one should be “on the same wave” as their current bosses, who, for example, may prefer doing sports in the middle of a working day.

All in all, besides that the successful person should base his personal decisions on experience from supervisors. The fear of making one’s own mistakes is greatly exaggerated.