People nowadays live longer than they used to. What caused this situation? Is it a negative or positive development?

It is an unquestionable fact that our contemporaries have a longer life than our predecessors. This change happened due to many reasons such as advance of medicine, technology and economic prosperity. Below we look at those reasons in more details.

Firstly, our understanding of ourselves has increased tremendously since 1900s. We learn widespread reasons of illnesses and sickness and learned how to handle them. For instance, vaccination helped us fight illnesses which killed off a half of Europe’s population in 1700s. Moreover, with surgery we are able cure previously incurable diseases and traumas. For example, if you were stubbed by a knife in 1800s, you will probably die in case any inner organs was damaged, by contrast, today if an ambulance arrived in time, you will survive. In other words, our knowledge and advancement of technology have led to remarkable increase of an average life span.

Secondly, today in general we are much wealthier than ever before. This economic prosperity allowed us making medical care available for many. Although we tend to take our modern medicine for granted, we ought to remember that in the past only a small part of humanity had enough money to pay for medical care. By contrast, today almost any employed person might allow buying insurance. For instance, in 1900s in Russia there were less than ten hospitals available for common people in the whole state, moreover only a wealthy peasant or merchant could pay money to seek help in them. At the same time today Russian Federation has thousands of hospitals which are available for all citizens for free.

Finally, it seems that the increase of longevity is a positive achievement but at the same time it brings several serious troubles such in average modern population is less healthy. Persons who would have died in the past now are giving offspring who are even less healthy. Moreover, elderly become an financial burden for many developed countries because those states have to spend significant amount of money on health care and pensions. At the same time, I tend to believe that this longevity has a positive effect on our society and all negative facets will be overcome in nearest future. For example, a recent advancement in genetics will allow us to make our children healthier than we are.

In conclusion, we have started to live longer because of our technology and medicine and I deeply believe that our future advancement in those fields will tackle or negative consequences of the change.