People who develop many different skills are more successful than people who focus on one skill only.

Nowadays, we live in a competitive world where everyone is striving to get high quality job in order to keep up with the advanced world. So that the issue about specialization or generalization which is better to help people get high quality job is still on debate, but in my opinion, I believe that people who develop one skill are more successful than people who develop different skills. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, people who tend to develop one skill are likely to get high salary job because rich companies always incline to specialization and hire experts. Also, we live on internet era where many people can gain superficial knowledge about any field, but it is so hard to have deep knowledge through internet only, especially there are a lot of competitors that they studied several years to gain deep knowledge. For instance, after graduation from pharmacy school, I tended to specialize in pharmaceutics. I took the master degree, and many online courses to gain much knowledge in pharmaceutics subject. All that took me years as I was reading many books, practicing and searching on scholarship papers. Thereby, I ended up working at international company with high salary. However, my friends who after graduation worked in a pharmacy, they are paid low and the same salary for years as there is no promotion or incentive. That’s why; it is so essential for people to specialize to be expertise in their field as well as gain high salary.

Second of all, developing one skill is so crucial in these days because people prefer to go to specialist in all fields like going to the specialist doctor or the electronic engineer to repair any devices, and so on. For instance, when my cell phone was damaged two years ago, I went to my brother, who is a doctor, to repair it because he knew some knowledge about repairing from the internet, but my mobile phone winded up not fixed and got worse than before. Thus, I took it to a mobile technical, and he fixed my mobile in half an hour only. I was astonished of his expertise, I knew after that he is an electronic engineer. Also, the same thing with our health. Most people tend to go to specialist doctor rather than generalized. Therefore, developing one skill is required nowadays in all field, and preferred by most of the people.

To sum up, the issue about generalization or specialization is controversial, but I think that people who develop one skill are more successful than people who develop different skills for two reasons. It is so important to get high salary, and it is preferred by most of the people.