People who develop many different skills are more successful

Nowadays, more and more people are debating if developing various skills can be more helpful for career. Though there are many people who are special in one area are difinitely successful, I strongly believe that it is more likely to success when you know different kinds of skills. I hold this opinion for two reasons, and I will demonstrates my idea in the subsequent passage.

First and foremost, solving a single problem always require different sorts of knowledge and skills. If you only fucus on one segment, it is unlikely to handle the real problem in life or work. My own experience is a compelling example to illustrate the importance of developing many different skills. When I was in high school, my class was preparing to have a talent show in our school annual celebration and I was in charge of it. To bigin with, I felt it is esay to finish because I only need to arrange some classmates to dance and sing. However, I realized it needs more soon, for a talent show also needs the accompanied music, setting and etc. Moreover, I have to learn how to edit music for the show and acquire basic setting knowledge for the show. This experience told me that I have to know different knowledge to accompilish a single success.

In addition, when you can apply a number of skills together, you can create something new. That is how creativity works, even though you will not feel it at the beginning. It just as what Steven Jobs said, you can not connect the dots looking forward, you can only connect them looking backward. For instance, my cousin was major in computer science in university. He gradually feel it is not his passion to focus on this area, therefore he took part in a finiance graduate program, which is he really enjoy. After he graduated, he went to an investment bank, and there was so many paper works to do. So, he made a software to reduce the human's work and increase working productivity. He was prized and promoted by company because of the software. If he had not have both skills of finance and computer science, he would not have created the effective software.

In conclusion, I sincerely hold the view that developing a number of different skills is more possible to success. This is because dealing with a problem needs many kinds of skills, and because people can be more creative when they have more skills and information.