Playing games teach us about life.Do you agree or dısagree?

Playing games is an important part of every child’s childhood, and from my experiences I would say that it is true that playing teaches us about life in many different ways.

First of all, I think that games help us understanding that is not always possible to win or get everything you want. Let’s make the example of a table games: in a group of children playing, for instance, at monopoly, there will be a winner and, consequently, the other players will lose the game. This dynamic introduces the children to the logic of a world in which most of the times is not possible to win, or at least, the winners are a few in relationship to the majority.

Moreover, besides learning that “winning” is not always possible in life, playing games, especially groups games, is really important to understand and learn how to stay in a community of different people and respect each other. Every game implies rules to follow, and this means that since our childhood we get used in following those rules and keep a behavior that suits the needing of the game. As the former aspect, this one also introduces children to the way people behave in the real world and gives them the right basis to develop a correct social behavior.

Apart from the table and groups games, nowadays most children also play videogames. That kind of games can not only teach us to follow the rules and behave correctly, but also give us real life notion in every field of human knowledge, depending from the videogame played of course. For example, when I was a child I used to play different kind of simulation game. In one of them the player’s task was to be the mayor of a new founded city and develop it, introducing me to things like taxes, demand and offer, employment rates and so on.

In conclusion, whether we talk about table game or videogames, playing has always been a good way to learn something about daily-life.