Which would you choose: a high-paying job with long hours that would give you little time with family and friends or a lower-paying job with shorter hours that would give you more time with family and friends?

A lot of people would struggle in front of this question, but I’m quite sure about which position I would take in this situation: I would prefer a lower-paying job with shorter hours for many reasons.

First of all, I do not really care about money, and I find that spending time with the people you love is much more important than having a high-paying job. Friends and family are the things that really matters in my life, those who makes you feel alive. All the memories we have are in a certain way related to our family or friends, and less time with those people would means exchanging our (potential) memories for money, and I would never to this.

Although a high-paying job could guarantee a certain wealth in financial terms for my family, that does not mean a happier life, and that is exactly where I wanted to get: if sacrificing time for a better salary does not necessarily mean to have a happier life, is it worth it then?

Plus, unless you really love your job, working a lot of hours a week can be very frustrating, a thing that can result in a really unsatisfying life, that is the exact contrary of what most of the people, including me, look for in their life. Considering that only a few people manage to get a working place that they really love, it is more likely for someone to find a compromise between how much you work and how much you like your job, leaving some time free to spend with family and friends.

In conclusion, as a lower salary can make life a bit harder but not necessarily sad, especially if you use your spare time to do what you like in company of who you love, on the other hand, a higher salary does not mean a happier life.