Prompt: do you agree or disagree with the following statement:

“Overall, the widespread use of the internet has a mostly positive effect on life in today's world." Use reasons and details to support your opinion.

Some people think that the internet and modern technology affects mostly negative in today’s world although others think it affects mostly positive. From my experience, I contemplate that modern technologies have changed today’s life a lot in a positive way.

For example, I’m a university student and because of the corona pandemic, I can’t continue my studies face to face anymore, unfortunately. But thanks to the internet my professor and me and other students could keep on our studies online and it’s very useful. If there weren’t modern connections like the internet, we won’t continue our studies.

Another example I’m supposed to deliver my bachelor project and thesis just at the end of the semester. For this purpose, I need to read a lot of materials such as articles, papers, and reference books, but it’s very time-consuming whenever I try to search them in the university’s library. Now I have the ability to search them online and read all of them from reliable resources, moreover, I don’t need to go to university. Using online and reliable resources help people a lot.

Finally, as an international student, I’m not able to travel several times to my country to see my family but with applications like SKYPE, I can keep in touch with my family just with an internet connection. I talk to them and see them face to face and I don’t get homesick anymore. Formerly students and their family had to write a mail and it took a lot of time to reach each other and they couldn’t see or talk to each other. So with the internet, everybody could be kept in touch with their family from all over the world.

For the aforementioned reasons, I consider modern technologies have affected our lives so much.