Question:

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

For success in a future job, the ability to relate well to people is more important than studying hard in school.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people believe that ability to interact well with people is the most important characteristic which helps to find a lucrative job, but there are doubts about whether such a statement bears much truth. However, the opponents still challenge that opinion, stating that studying carefully in school rather than socializing is a highly needed skill needed for success in a future job. While there is much to consider and contrast between both fields of thought, I concur with the latter opinion and have two reasons for doing so. Still, this deserves further speculation and scrutiny, which I will delve into.

To begin, by studying vigorously at school, people will gain profound knowledge of a subject, which helps them to find a profitable job. Even though the skill of relating well with people is useful, still without knowledge, it makes little value. I have to admit that my example has profoundly influenced my opinion on this matter. At university, my friend and were studying theoretical physics and, after graduation, planned to apply for postdocs in Princeton. Tremendously hard was it for us not only because we were obliged to have a profound comprehension of the subject but also because of high competition for that job. On the one hand, it took me blood, sweat, and tears to study Physics for almost ten hours a day, which resulted in outstanding grades. On the other hand, my friend, Andrew, was studying less and used the time to socialize with other students and professors, since he thought that this skill would help him to find a lucrative job in Princeton. After graduation, we both applied to Princeton and had an interview. As a result, because I had deep knowledge, it helped me to get the job there, while Andrew was rejected because of lower comprehension of the subject. If he had worked hard at university, he would have gotten the lucrative job we dreamed about since sophomore year.

Furthermore, by studying arduously, people learn an invaluable characteristic of being insistent and deal with problems effectively, which makes it easier to find a fruitful job. Even though without this characteristic, it is possible to find a job with the help of social skills, still without persistence, it is impossible to succeed there. For example, after Andrew was rejected, one of the professors with whom he builds relationships helped him to find a position at Stony Brook University. Not only was he fired from this university, but he also decided to leave the academical society. This is related to the fact that his task was to solve the problem in nonstationary quantum field theory, which contained very cumbersome calculations and a vast amount of time to calculate. Since he was not used to hard work from university and was not persistent, he failed. If he had been working vigorously at university and gained insistency, he would not have had such problems in life.

In light of the reasons mentioned above, I firmly believe that hard work rather than the skill of relating well with people is of great importance for finding a lucrative job. This is because not only learning gives excellent knowledge but also helps to develop persistence, which is a valuable component for future success.