Question:

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Workers are more satisfied when they have many different types of tasks to do during the workday than when they do similar tasks all day long.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There are different standpoints regarding the happiness from the work. Some argue that workers would gain more satisfaction from doing different types of tasks while others hold the opposite idea that to do the same task leads them to be happier. In fact, it is hard to judge and up to the context of the work. Obviously, the majority of people are reluctant to repeat their action mechanically, because they cannot endure the tediousness created by the same work. Trying to do different types of tasks is beneficial for them to keep the motivation of job and is easy to satisfy themselves with achieving success in varied domains. Meanwhile, however, other consequences as a result from dissimilar sorts of work are supposed to be taken into account as well. The different types of tasks would make it impossible for workers to be happy sometimes: they coerce these people to face new challenges and it costs more time to acquaint every kind of tasks which even would be changed definitely in the second day. Except few extremely bold people, a huge number of workers will feel quite stressful when something is completely new for them. Further, the same type of task doesn’t mean the context of the job is the same. People are likely to suffer from varied kinds of formidableness in the daily work. An architect should do several different plans for one project. Even though they draw a window for one building’s façade, they have to establish dozens of models of windows to match the whole genre. Besides, if their work does not fulfill their customers’ demands, the architects have no choice but to redraw the façade. This type of work on some stage can also be called working repeatedly, whereas the context is definitely different and filled with challenges. It affords the strong happiness when the clients acclaim the work at last. So, I believe that no one will affirm that being an architect is a boring position even though they only do design every day. Consequently, we have to clarify which reasons lead workers to be happy. How different the type of tasks is unlikely to simply determine how happy workers can be during their workday. If one type of task containing diverse challenges stimulates someone’s motivation, the people would attain likewise pleasure from the work.