Question:

Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school. Do you think this is a good idea?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some parents believe that the reward of cash should not be offered even their children get high grade in school. However, In my belief, it is crucial for most students to be rewarded by money at each vital milestone, but not for those who are actively studying hard students.

Many people are concerned with student's improper usage of money. Of course, pupils are too young to be enough self-disciplined for large budget planning. If a children gets a thousand dollars, he or she may quickly buy a smart phone without reflection. And they would be spoiled because it is easy and big money. However, their unable to dispose of large money does not mean that parents should give up their opportunities to grow the capability of the financial management. Instead of lots of money, parents are encouraged to provide a little amount of cash to their children for each great academic achievement. Whatever they buy, they would learn how to do the financial plan. For example, if they really want to buy something expensive, they would know that they have to save more money to fulfill the goal. If they do so, they would develop the habit of saving money and grow discipline as well by. Therefore, it is advantageous for parents to reward their children for high academic performance by money.

Naysayers may argue that giving money under certain condition would develop their desire to the money, not the academic achievement. Indeed, there are some cases that students want to get high grade just because of it. It seems that encouraging them to study harder would be better than giving them award by cash. Nevertheless, most young children are not aware of the importance of the academy in reality. Despite few pupils have strong motivation to study hard, most pupils are passive, spending so much time playing video games or other entertainments. Thus, disciplining students by money is an efficient way to save them before overindulged in playing game or other entertainment.

Still, the practice is not proper for actively studying students. Because those who have already set up their mind for pursing higher grade, they would not be attracted by money as a motivation at all. Instead, putting the budget on offering them a better school, as a reward, would be more inspiring them. For instance, if a student is very interested in academic achievement, than he or she would be more likely to study in higher education level. One will get more satisfied If parents provide him or her a superlative education environment.

In conclusion, parents should offer their children reward of money for each excellent academic fulfillment, but not for the highly self-disciplined pupils.