The rapid growth of cities has a mostly positive impact on the development of the society.

I have been living in the countryside since I finished my master degree. Everyday I wake up early, rushing to the bus station and being afraid of missing the bus that only come one time an hour. Given this situation, I couldn’t help thinking how convenient it was that I prepared my breakfast with ease and follow my own living pace when I was stuying in the capital city, Taipei, Taiwan, without the anxiety over the transportation. Therefore, I agree that the rapid growth of citites could definitely trigger the development of society.

To begin with, a well-developed city enhances the quality of life. In other words, with decent development, a city are facilited with all equipments that people need. For example, it is easier for people to acquire complete medical equipment when they live in big city. To meet the need of great amount of population, there are more hospital in the urban that in the countryside. Take Taipei, people can find a hospital merely every five minutes drive. However, people have to drive for around a half hour from home to the hospital. If there are someone attacked by emergecy illness like stroke, they could acquire proper care in big city.

Furthermore, an urbanized city provides people with more learning resources. To be more specific, people can access varied learning resources in the city. For instance, when I was a college student, I went to National Concert Hall almost three times a week because the concert hall was right behind our university. When there were some well-known musician such as Lang Lang, Yo-Yo Ma, I could went see them and learned from them. Through these experiences, I was inspired and also learned precious lessons. On the country, now I move back to my hometown where there is no concert hall nearby. I barely have opportunity to go to a recital and that makes my life totally tedious.

People need to live in the city for their own good. For the elder and those who are suffering from cronically illness, living in the city removes their uncertainty of their health. For the younger, a well-developed city offers them countless learning resources and makes them better competitors. A mature and decent city would absolutely have positive impacts on people who are living in.