Rather than help their children with schoolwork, parents should help their children to work independently.

A heated debate exists over whether parents should help children to do their assignments or encourage them to do by themselves. Some people believe that the given guidance by adults can be useful for students. For me, i completely disagree with this view.

First, children will be more creative. A child who tries to solve the problems encountered in the schoolwork individually has to think deeply. This process enables the child to come up with creative solutions. Take me for an example. When I was writing a botany paper in high school, i couldn’t narrow a topic to focus on. My parents didn’t help me with my projects although they were both botanists. Therefore, I had to read different reference on botany and tried to combine what I read to achieve a new idea. Although it was time-consuming, after a while I came up with a new idea to talk about the ability of plants to distinguish between different wavelengths of light. If I had ask my parents for help, I would not have finished my paper creatively, I would just refer to their ideas without thinking about the other ones.

Second, working independently will excite students’ interest in study. When i was a little kid, i had a hard time to paint figures for the painting homework and my parents encouraged me keep trying by myself. By learning the painting style of Henry Darger, who was a famous artist that would cut figures from the magazines and newspapers and pasted them onto his own background paintings, i came up with my own idea that i could use a cartoon character as the figure in my own paintings. Though this process, i found that arts is really interesting and i focused better on art class afterwards.

Third, doing homework on their own provides an ideal opportunity for students to hone their time management skills. In detail, when confronting different tasks, students need to prioritize the ones in demand for immediate attention. If students will have a test in mathematics tomorrow and a presentation about environment protection next week, they will learn to memorize the important mathematical formula and master the application of equations first. After they have confidence that they can pass the exam easily they can start to make the slides and practice their presentation about the environment.

In conclusion, it is a rational to let the students deal with their difficulties in schoolwork by themselves since this strategy have the best effect on the performance of the students.