Modern agriculture methods damage the environment, but providing food for the growing population around the world is more important than protecting the environment.

It is obvious that people can’t live without food. Thus, there exists an perception that supplying food for the growing population around the world is more significant than protecting the environment. For me, i completely disagree with this point of view.

First, the damage to environment is a more imminent threat to humanity. It is true that people need eat to survive, and the growing population demands more food. However, with the improvement of agriculture, there is abundant food available for citizens. Currently, food shortage is not as serious as before. Instead, all kinds of environmental issues are having serious effect on our life. People clear forest to make farmland, and such action has already caused desertification, which is the source of sandstorm. Millions of live stocks raised by farmers release thousands of tons of green house gas to the atmosphere, contributing to the rising of sea-level.

Second, once ecological balance is broken, it is difficult to restore. Environment consists of all kinds of animals and plants which all have their important role. If one of them becomes extinct, the chain of reactions may be set off, and some of other species may disappear correspondingly. When people destroy too much habitats of bees for agricultural purpose, many bees will die. Then, most plants will not be pollinated, and there won’t be fruit. Consequently animals and human will starve to death since the plants won’t provide us with any food.

Third, the extinction of certain species is a great loss to the development of science. What the great fortune of nature can offer is biodiversity which contains numerous possibilities that can help the humanity to achieve more advancement. Some wild rice may have the potential to grow in a harsher environment. If this kind of rice can be domesticated, there will be more food supply for people. Some edible plants growing in the nature may have the ability to resist pests, and this means that such plants can have a high yield without using pesticides. However, if we don’t protect the environment, the magical species may become extinct before scientists can bring them into our life.

In conclusion, it is more crucial to protect the environment than to feed the growing population because the environment problems have more long term effects.