Sample TOEFL essay: After they complete their university studies, some students live in their hometowns. Others live in different towns and cities. Which do you think is beterr? Give reasons for your answer.

Essay topics

As the development of high-advanced technology and multiple transportation, it’s easier for people to leave their hometown and work in another country. However, some freshly graduated students still prefer to work in their hometowns for different reasons. In my own opinion, working in my grown area is a better choice.

Obviously, people have already better-established their social network in their hometown than outside, which will be a good starting point for their career. The advice and assistance from their friends, relatives or neighbors will be important for a freshman to better tackle with kinds of difficulties arose in their first job. For example, when I firstly got a chance to introduce a product to an important customer in my first job, I was so nervous because of my less experience. I immediately come to the house of my older cousin and seek advice from him, who has been a product manager for around 3 years. Luckily, with his sharing experience and advice, the customer was very satisfactory with my presentation and placed the order without any hesitance.

Besides, students could save more money if they live in their hometown. For fresh graduates without high salaries, living with their parents could definitely reduce their daily expenditure like house renting fees. For example, my older sister has lived in the home place with her parents for around 3 years since her college graduation. She need not afford much money for renting a studio or share a 2-room house with another 3-4 students with crowded living area but less money. On the contrary, she saved lots of money and started to afford her first house this summer.

Last but not least, living in hometown means much more family time. People enjoying family time would prefer to stay around their parents in their hometown. For example, I have lived in my home place since my college graduation and I enjoy the barbecue time with my parents every weekend. We shared what we saw and what we heard with each other and also the fabulous roast meat, which would not be possible if I lived another country.

Overall, I think living in the hometown is a better choice for the fresh graduates. Living in the hometown does not necessarily correlate with less opportunity or boring life, but might offer a better starting career point, save more money and bring with more family time. All of the above could make the freshman much prepared for their future challenge.