School administrators at an elementary school have recently decided to increase the amount of hours spent teaching kids about robotics, computer programming, and other elements of science and technology. However, they were forced to reduce the amount of hours spent on teaching art and music. Do you agree or disagree with this new policy?

Opinions vary with the regard to the question of whether the amount of hours spent on teaching art and music should be redistributed to teaching high-tech trends. Although teaching art and music is a highly valuable for children development, I dare say that spending more time obtaining knowledge about current trends in science and technology may boost children development as early as in elementary schools; in addition it fosters their abilities to catch the trends in science in later stages of their lives.

To begin with, the study of art and music helps to develop an important feeling such as empathy in children. To be specific, young are most vulnerable to changes in characters in early years, hence, by studying them such emotional subjects as art or music, school administrators are able to lay the fundament of humanity in them. Moreover, this practice could lead children on stage through discovery of hidden musical talents.

Nonetheless, current trends in technological development and computerisation of nations are conjugated with the need to develop knowledge in these spheres. For example, the Internet fosters the ability to communicate faster and cheaper, creates opportunities to use more safe electronic financial transactions e.t.c. In order to cover those trends the redistribution of hours spent on special subjects looks logical, especially in terms of shortage of time. By providing children with greater amount of data and knowledge in science in their young age, school teachers may induce the creativity of children to work, who, in turn, may provide further discoveries in programming methods or technology or science.

By the same token, the art and music are fundamental subjects, to which humanity has already got used to. The human nature works in the such a way as to when it feels more comfortable by repeating already known patterns for centuries. Insofar as creativity and science has led mankind in the era of technological boom, extra efforts are needed to cover those trends and provide them with extra resources for further development. This evolution is positively correlated with the development of the mankind itself, like a roundabout effect. To be specific, by leaving the comfort zone created by repetition of the same patterns, children are able to create wonderful things.

All in all, spending more hours on covering current trends inculcates in children the responsibility for future of mankind. I firmly believe, that the life is on the other side of comfort zone, and further steps in development of current trends could “lead humanity into space”.