For schools, assessing teachers' teaching efficiency is a very important issue. But is it better to let other teachers assess a teacher's efficiency or to allow the students to do the assessments?

There is no shortage of debate whether it is better to let other teachers assess a teacher’s performance or allow the students do the job. In my opinion, it is more efficacious if the assessment is done by the pupils. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, students are involved with more teachers and experienced a variety of teachers through their studies in many years. As a result, they have seen many good and not very good teachers. My own experience is a compelling example of this. I remember when I was in seventh grade I had a new mathematics teacher, Miss Jones. She was graduated the year before and it was her first year of teaching. She used to write down the solution of a problem on the black board and explain it line by line, and only after the explanation, she would tell us what problem was. We had a hard time learning and understanding the lessons. When we consulted the situation with other teachers and the school principal, they did not understand what was buttering us and told us that they assessed this teacher through some examinations over months and that Miss Jones had a great academic resume. For this reason, I think that it should be up to students to assess the performance of a teacher.

Moreover, the students surely know better what works for them and what does not. A teacher would consider what method is the best for herself through her experience of going to school as a student, which was several years ago and might not work for the new generation of students. For instance, I remember when I was in first grade, my teacher, Mrs. Sadat, was very old and used dated methods of teaching, for example she used punishment whenever a student did something wrong or answered a question incorrectly. She used her big wooden ruler to hit on the poor student's hand. Although she and other teachers thought that this method is beneficial to the students and it results in better scores and behavior, the overall grades of that year was worse than any year of my education years, and the others'. Accordingly, it is better if the students are involved in assessment of their teachers.

In conclusion, though some may oppose my opinion, I strongly believe that it is far better to let students assess a teacher's efficiency than other teachers. This is because students experience different kind of teachers, and they know better about what teaching method is more beneficial to them.