Should government tear down traditional buildings and replaced them with totally modern buildings?

With the skyrocketing development of modern society, there is an increasing demand for more buildings in cities. The government tore down numerous traditional buildings and replaced them with totally modern buildings. Some individuals indicate that constructing new buildings are of more significance for the government rather than preserving historic ones. However, others hold an opposite idea. From my perspective, I agree with the latter opinion.

Admittedly, replacing historic and traditional buildings are significant for the government, since old buildings are always too dangerous for citizens to live inland several historic buildings are in such a poor design that the total impression of the city is negatively impacted by them. Actually, the government has some reason to construct more new buildings to meet citizens’ demands and show greater impressions of a city. However, I still suggest that the government is supposed to emphasize the protection of historic buildings.

First of all, traditional and historic buildings are symbols of cities, and sometimes even the culture. There are some traditional buildings which are of great research importance, thus we should pay great attention to preserve them. For instance, the Forbidden City in the heart of Beijing must be paid a lot attention. It is one of the biggest imperial palaces and ancient buildings all over the world. With such a long history, dating back to Qing Dynasty, it records the history pace of Chinese traditional and rich culture, especially good for people to get familiar with China. Although constructing modern new buildings helps improve the impressions of Beijing, the Forbidden City is the symbol of Beijing. Without it, Beijing must lose great attractions to the rest of the world. Thus, preserving these historic buildings is more critical.

What's more, by preserving traditional and historic buildings and displaying them as a tourist attraction, government can stimulate more rapid improvement of economy rather than by building new ones. In other words, a lot of people travel to one city only because of the special scenery there. If all the cities are nearly the same, such as the skyscrapers, the wide squares and etc, tourists would feel bored. However, traditional and historic buildings themselves are special enough. For example, in Chongqing--- one famous city in southwest China--- the government constructs a specially preserved street of historic buildings, named the Republic of China Street. All the buildings there were constructed in the Republic of China. Every year, this street attracts hundreds and thousands of tourists around China. As a result, this flourishing tourism stimulates the economy within that area. Many restaurants open there, and a lot of unemployed citizens gain new opportunities to work. Protecting the traditional buildings finally lead to positive impacts for cities.

Based on the discussion above, in spite of the fact that constructing new buildings is crucial for the government to some degree, I still hold the idea that preserving historic buildings benefits a city more.