Should governments spend more money on improving roads and highways, or should governments spend more money on improving public transportation (buses, trains, subways)? Why? Use specific reasons and details to develop your essay.

Various conditions in different regions might lead to a discrepant option on whether subsidize roads and highways or public transportation. Well, I hold the view that spending money on the former one might be a better choice according to my experience. However, some persons disagree with this assertion on account of their own consideration. And I will illustrate my opinion with reasons by the conjunction of economic development, the employment rate and citizens' lives.

First and foremost, the improvement of roads and highways might be more efficient to the development of economy in a city. Initially, enhancing roadways makes the transportation from others cities more rapidly, which correspondingly attracts more trucks and wares importing towards our cities. Furthermore, it is because the convenience of the highways that enterprises and investors pay more attention on our cities' progression and invest their money to the industrial districts. Obviously, possessing more money is beneficial to citizens from various aspects, also including using investment bringing by roadways to improve the public vehicles. Comparably, the economic advantage brought by spending money on public transportation is the efficiency of the commute. Accordingly, option to improve highways and roads, combining possible income from import and potential economic proliferation bringing about by investment, is better.

Also, from employment rate aspect, investment on roads and highways shows more benefits on employment. The expansion of economy growth might lead to an industrial enlargement such as the mass production and new factories founded. So there is a corresponding increasing demand on workers and directors for those production and manufactories. Apparently, this approach will decrease unemployment rate and also attract more employees from other cities to work here. In contrast, whereas subsidizing the public transportation can only offer several occupations like drivers and repairers, so the rate is unable to be more drastically influenced.

Last but not least, if the highways towards other places are more time-saving citizens are likely to find more approaches to recreate themselves outside cities. In the past, if individuals must cost 2 hours to go to a place of interest located in an adjacent area, in all likelihood, people would not spend that much of time to entertain themselves. But, nowadays, with the development and perfect of the highways, people are able to not only spend their time to nearby famous places but also can have meals or go camping to other cities only in half an hour. On the contrary, options to enhance transportation will not show this effect. Indeed, subsidizing the roads and highways provide more entertainment with citizens.

All in all, surging economy, higher employment rate and abundant recreation are three main reasons why I choose the former option, to invest the roads and highways.