Should you tell lies in a relationship?

As a matter of fact, any relationship is built upon trust and the ability that two people have to take the other seriously, otherwise, this relation would not have a meaning. However, in real life, many situations defy this assumption, from merchandising ads to people omitting the truth from preventing relatives or friends to get hurt to politicians, one must always analyze each situation at a time when deciding where and how to tell the truth is the way to go.

For instance, let's suppose someone shows up in front of you bad dressed, and then asks in front of you if you approve it, you can't tell in front of everybody and this person the truth, there are a place and time where to talk about that. While the previous example might have seemed a small and inoffensive lie, incapable to cause greater damage. Sometimes one must tell even bigger lies, like an example that happened in my own family, my aunt was diagnosed with cancer, we chose not to tell her twins daughters of 11 years because we felt they would not understand, and this decision proved to be right as my aunt made an outstanding recovery, so there was no need to frighten the children with truth at the moment.

Another last example that I would like to give is a level above the other previous two, and it is about when a leader, tells a lie to its nation in order to keep it under control and keeping from falling into unrest as what Winston Churchill did in the Second World War when Hitler was on verge of imminent invasion of the United Kingdom, he did not tell his people the real facts, that would weaken and scare them off, the best thing was the keep the spirits high, and that was one of the main facts that helped the nation to withstand Nazi Germany, what he did was to tell a lie, but acting as such was vital in process of beating Hiler plan.