Consumism

Television advertising directed toward young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.

We live in a world heavily plunged into the merchandising culture, which reflects the capitalist nature of our society, where we the consumers, are exposed to a daily series of merchandising ads, ranging from cars to clothes, foods, movies, houses, etc. The problem is to ensure that this mountain of ads do not thwart the development of critical judgement of our children, at the age of 2 to 5, their brains are being formed, so it is a very sensitive moment, where anything can interfere in the formation of the sense of awareness needed in each citizen, if they are to become thoughtful individuals.

So it is a shared mission of parents, teachers, and the government to ensure that those between this age have access only to material that would not be harmful to their upbringing. I also like to give an example of my own childhood, where most of the time I spent watching Television, however, the channels my mother allowed me to watch showed very informative programs, where commercial advertising was forbidden, that without a single drop of doubt helped to make me the person that I am today. I do remember watching programs about anthropology, natural life, foreign culture. I am sure that if instead of that, I had watched commercial advertising where you are recklessly told to buy the last toy on the market, the last t-shirt, the last bike, the last clothing line, by now I would be a reckless and futile consumer, that would give life to the sole purpose of consumption for consumption, without a real need behind it.

So like I was saying at the start, each part of society must work together to ensure, the young children grow up to become the best adults they can be, from the parents, selecting the TV content, to teachers in touch with every step of the child educational development until the government, issuing laws to forbid commercial ads during the interval of children's program