Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.

Many would say that society should make efforts as much as possible to save all endangered species. They insist that saving species in danger is an indispensable accountability of mankind. Also, it is true that harms in other species directly and indirectly affect humen, so the argument is understandable considering importance of saving ecosystems. However, I still disagree with this viewpoint.

First and foremost, saving all species from extinction is not plausible because of limited resources. One may asserts that we probably will cost in one day if any action is not taken for the vanished species. Even though the assertion might true, we have no choice but to take that risks because we are hardly able to afford to take the actions within limited government budgets and lacking human resources. To be specific, before taking any action, we have to determine whether the species is really in danger and find out the exact reasons of the extinction, which needs highly paid expertises. Imagine we decide to save certain species. Any treatment to save the species whose habitat is a jungle middle in Africa will ensue enormous time and budget, consequently, we cannot focus on more impending problems of ourselves, such as ensuring health or safety of the citizens and maintaining well-being of the whole nation.

Moreover, saving only species which are jeopardized due to human is more desirable in that it is beneficial for the nature to minimize human intervention. To be more specific, there is natural food-web in the ecosystem which means certain species has relationships with many others. We cannot perfectly predict what will happen after we alter the law of jungle, so any little alteration for saving one species might cause the annihilation of other many species. Of course, we have to call for species whose danger is our fault, which is stemmed from the same principle: minimize the human intervention. Therefore, saving only species whose anticipating disappearance is fault of human will be the most moderate and reasonable action.

In conclusion, I firmly think the argument stating human have to save all endangered species is problematic in that it is neither plausible nor salutary. In this regard, the given statement that we should take actions only when the potential extinction of species is responsible for us.