Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.

Earth today faces crisis more severe than it ever has before. Each year more than 5000 species go extinct, including animals, plants and microorganisms. Although human activity is one among the many reasons that cause extinction, I strongly disagree with the speaker. It is understandable that one may concern about the money and labor we need to devote to such big project, but I hold that man should take every initiative to save speicies that are in danger, because saving endangered species is ultimately saving oursleves.

Because the ecosystem of earth is a complex whole that depend on different species to maintain balance, the vanishing of some species would interupt the balance and put our own health in risk. Even vocanic eruption or natural fire is what put species in danger, for the sake of preserving a suitable living environment, we should make the best effort to save them. Our life rely on healthy forest, clean water and unpolluted atomosphere. If pines disappear, we lose a significant proportion of forests, which originally generate oxygen that sustains our life. Food chains would be altered and even cut off, consequently it would trigger more species to vanish, and ultimately interrupt the entire ecosystem. Human may not be the criminal for some species' death, but to let the situation of extinction continue is to commit our own suicides.

Besides, many plants provide the cures for human diseases that are hard to treat with. Since our scientists have only studied 5 percent of the entire plant species, to leave the rest of plants unprotected may greatly decrease our chances of finding cures for diseases. A chemical found in a plant called sweet wormwood has been identified as the cure for malaria, which has troubled human beings for centuries. Herbs have incredible effect for treating mental disorder. As thousands of plant species go extinct every day, we may be losing the panacea for AIDS, cancer and heart disease.

Although people might reject our opinion and claim that according to natural selection, the species that are in danger prove themselves to be weak, therefore do not deserve protection. I still think that this claim is biased and impractical. For how far are we humans from our extinction? If natural selection theories suggest that humans are weak, small and esay to be crashed, should we just let that happen?

From a practical perspective, to save endangered species that end up where they are at due to natural causes is recommended. Because to save them is to save oursleves, and to let them vanish is to let ourselves vanish.