The primary goal of technological advancement should be to increase people's efficiency so that they have more leisure time.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for t

In the 21st century, numerous high technology products emerge every day. 3D printing, virtual reality, sound speed aircraft and so on, are all changing human's life. Is it true that the primary goal of technological advancement is to bring people more leisure time? Although under some circumstances, people participate more in recreational activities because technology saves their time, this claim unfairly generalizes technology's outcome. Therefore, I fundamentally disagree with the statement.

To begin with, many technological devices were invented with the aim of advancing human knowledge. Back in ancient Greek, Ptolemy stone was invented to measure the angle of the Sun compared to the Earth. Ancient astronomers used it to study the motion of our planet and proposed the earliest theories of Earth's rotation. As time went on, telescope was invented, which was only capable of magnifying images up to three times. Then different modifications were brought into reality, and in the end we have highly advanced telescope that enables us to watch the surface of the moon. The development of technological devices in history greatly overlaps with the advancement of our knowledge. We are inspired to seek better solutions and construct more efficient devices because of our insatiable crave for knowledge.

Nowadays, besides contributing to our knowledge directly, technology has also provided opportunities for us to achieve things that seem impossible, which is thrilling and greatly advances our life quality. Artists uses 3D printing mechines to make delicate sculptors which human hand has no way to achieve. Virtual reality expands our imagination and gives us enjoyment of sensation excitement. These are the ways that we widen our mind. They may help us advance our knowledge, or they may bring us more material for sparkles inspiration. No matter which, they bring excitement into our life.

One may argue that technology increases people's efficiency so that they have more time to entertain. It is true that people are rescued from tedious and repetitive labor so they have more free time. Every one of us uses stove and microwave so we don't need to generate fire out of wood. Also, washing machine takes care of our clothes so we don't have to wash them by hands. However, the goal of inventing these machines was never to encourage idleness, but to spend our time on more meaningful works.

Although it is true that one of the changes technology brings forth is leisure time, the primary goal of technology is to help us with the advancement of our knowledge and the excitement of our life.