"The concept of 'individual responsibility' is a necessary fiction. Although societies must hold individuals accountable for their own actions, people's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making."

In many respects, society always expect individuals to take full repsonsibility for their behaviors, so that when unpleasant events occur, they would be the scapegoats and bear all the condemnation. Nevertheless, is it true that human beings are capable of determining every aspect of their life? People are born into families, growing up in a nation which is not chosed by them, and educated with curriculum offered by educational institutions. Although they seem free, this freedom is deceptive.

In every aspect of life, individuals have only limited amount of choices, even though media and government acclaim that people have enough freedom and are under no constrains. Under the disguise that the society welcomes all sorts of occupation and talents, people with unique wisdom always find themselves in conflict with the majority. They have no choice but to give up their uniqueness, otherwise they would not fit in. For example, the famous philosopher Socrates tried to save Athens from its corruption by provoking young people to re-examine their beliefs. Socrates was the only person who realized that despite being a democratic society, Athens was in the danger of downfall, due to the ubiquity of sophistry. However, his insight and warning did not change people's mind, but rather led to his own execution. Socrates felt that he had no choice but to accept the death sentence, because to live would be to sin, just as other people. Political authorities often times determine the standard for a good citizen, and anyone who confronts such standards would be eliminated.

In some other examples, individuals who follow authorities still get condemned, because no one has the courage to accuse the regime itself. When the disater of Chernobyl happened, the staff who worked during that midnight shift got put into prison for 20 years. The Soviet Union avoided prosecuting any government officals who led the construction of the nuclear power plant, nor political leaders who tried to ignore the incident after its occurence. All the condemnation went to those individuals. They were of course not innocent, but they were accused of crimes that went beyond their reponsibilities.

One might argue that a person just needs to be careful in order to avoid wrongdoings, since in most cases one would not kill a person by accident, or steal something unless actually intent to steal. A person commits crime because he wants something that he cannot gain through legal means. However, this claim is only valid on the condition that the law itself is just, and the society is just.

A person who is financilly broke and jobless may be a diligent worker, and his financial situation occurs because of a nation's financial crisis. A woman who becomes a prostitute may actually be a victim of human trafficking. Both the individual and the society must take responsibility of any citizen's situation, because everybody is a social animal, and the society is superior than any individual.