In some countries, teenagers have jobs while they are still students. Do you think this is a good idea? Support your opinion by using specific reasons and details.

Students are a vital part of every community throughout the world. Their skills and knowledge after university play an enormously high role in the future prosperity and outcome, not only for their careers, but also for the domestic economy and well-being of others. There are different opinions whether students should work or not. However, in my opinion, I strongly believe that students should work while they are studying, for reasons which I will explain in the following essay.

First of all, by working from an early age a person is able to accumulate more knowledge and experience about a specific field. One of the biggest flaws about the way university and school system works, at least in most majors, is the lack of opportunities that it offers for students to get their hands dirty with life problems. That being the case, when students graduate, they are still not ready to do a job with high responsibility. Nonetheless, this situation has its good side, because that small group of students who work and their resume is filled with different job experiences, are in a big advantage compared to their peers with no such experience. For example, in my country it is very hard to find a job even if you have graduated top of the class. Last year, my brother and his friends graduated with a degree in computer science. But only he was able to find a job as a junior software developer. The distinguishing factor was that he had worked a couple of part time jobs and doing different types of internships, while his friends were focused solely on the academic aspect of their field. And as it turned out he was the one who made the right decision. This is only one of many examples that proves the worthiness of job experience.

Secondly, having a job from a young age, is one of the best ways to improve social skills which are of great importance in having a successful career. It is a known fact that confidence, emotional intelligence and communication skills, also known as soft skills, are just as valuable as any other knowledge related to a specific subject. Therefore, by spending time and working in a stressful environment with complete strangers is, probably, the best way to learn how to interact and communicate. My own experience is a compelling example of this. Before my twentieth birthday, which corresponds with my first job, my social anxiety was pretty bad. This used to happen every time I spent time in an unfamiliar environment. However, luckily for me, in my second year at college, one of my professors offered me a job at a big financial institution. The first week was very hard, but then the situation kept improving and my social skills were much better after the first month. Moreover, at the end of semester when I went back home for summer holidays, my family was stunned by how much I had changed in such short time. I can easily say that this experience has changed my life for better in an unbelievable fashion.

In conclusion, I acknowledge the fact that there might be different ideas or opinions on this issue. Nevertheless, having a job from a young age is better from my perspective because you learn more about your future career and you improve social skills.