Some parents forbid young children from owning smartphones (cell phones with Internet access), while others disagree and believe that they are important tools for keeping in touch. Which point of view do you think is better, and why?

There is no shortage of opinion on whether small kids should use a cellphone, particularly the one with access to the internet, or not. I believe that children of young ages should not have a smartphone. Because owning a phone and having access to the internet might be harmful to them, and also it can badly affect their school success. I will explore my reasons throughout this essay.

To begin with, due to the easy accessibility of any kind of content from the web, children especially the quite young ones, represent a vulnerable group for this regard. This is because, when a kid uses a smartphone, intendedly or unintendedly he might click on to some links or download some apps that are not suitable for them to consume. Therefore, this situation could result in affecting the child’s psychology and personal development. I have a good example for this when my brother was nine, my parents bought him a smartphone to just reach him all time and know that where he is. However, one day, one of his classmate sent him a video which was a heart surgery video where the patient died, when he clicked and watched the video, he started afraid from any kind of doctors because he thought that all the doctors are bad and their intention is killing people rather than saving. After this unfortunate situation, my parents had decided to take his phone from him, and they did not allow him to use his phone until his fifteenth birthday.

Additionally, having a cellphone could also affect children’s school performance. Since there are a great variety of apps and video games which are more than enough to make a one busy all day, school kids might face with a drop performance on their exams and they can lose their interests on the education. For example, a primary school that I’ve known, decided to ban any kind of smartphone usage at the school, because they claimed that it distracts kids to focus on their lecturers. After a couple of months, the principal reported that it was a wise decision to make because the grads of many kids had improved since that time period.

To conclude, even though there are many different opinions on kids using smartphone, I believe that young children should not use cellphones until a certain age. This is because they can consume bad contents from the web and using a phone might affect their overall school success.