Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school. Do you think this is a good idea?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Apparently, in every corner of the globe, parents want their children to be well educated and shine among their peers so that they can take pride in their children. In this regard, monetary reward has always been considered as a way to propel children and students towards studying harder and getting good grades. Contrary to many people who believe that this educational strategy, i.e. giving money for high grades, is efficient, I totally disagree with this strategy and I am o the opinion that parents should not offer money to their school-age children for the high grades they get at school. The reasons, including but not limited to the following, substantiate my viewpoint.

To begin with, when parents offer their children money for the high grades they get in school, children will not understand and appreciate the importance of value of education. To be more specific, money is considered as an external motivation not only for children but for everyone; being externally motivated will lead to underestimating the importance of what must be internally important- studies. Under such a circumstance, students will not study for the sake of learning and being educated, they just do so to be praised externally. Indeed, they study hard to get the money, and it does not matter to them how important it is to be educated. It is best to err on the side of caution, meaning that everything should come in moderation not giving money for each single high score they get. For instance, when I was an elementary school, I was sick and tire of studying and going to school early in the morning. My parents, then, encouraged me to study more and for each high score I got, they gave me 5 dollars. After a while, I found out that if I want to earn more, I studied hard for almost all school year and I saved my money. However, it was still a torture for me to go to school let alone study hard for the exams. Years later, after a voyage of discovery within myself to find the roots of my reluctance in being educated, I found out that it was parents' fault not encourage me for something more internal.

The next reason worthy of note is that when students are offered money for something that is their responsibility -studying-, they will become lazy and will have higher expectation from their family. To put it in other words, when students constantly receive monetary reward for their only duty in life, they will not be active, hard worker and they will become irresponsible. To make it even worse, they will expect more from their parents for more important achievements. For instance, my nephew gets a small quota of money as an encouragement for his high grades. Unfortunately, yesterday when he was successful in an Olympiad exam, he asked his parents to buy him a car. It is surely unbelievable! Another issue in his case was that he became such a lazybones, because every time he was asked to apply for a job, he refused it simply because he had a source of money and he did not want to work harder. It is obvious that if his parents cut him down on such monetary reward, he would understand that to gain money, he needs to work hard not just be prepared for something which he is responsible to do.

To recap, taking the above-mentioned reasons and examples into account, I believe that parents should not give their children monetary reward for the high grades they get. That is because not only will they become irresponsible and lazy, but also they will never appreciate the value of education.