Some people believe that a college or university education should be available to all students.

Others believe that higher education should be available only to good students. Discuss these

views. Which view do you agree with? Explain why.

Some people believe that college education should be available to all students without any evaluations for the applicant's abilities. Others hold that university admission must only be allowed for hard-working learners. In my opinion, I concur with the perspective that degrees after high school must solely be offered for promising students. I feel this way for many potential reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, the majority of individuals would agree with the notion that letting inept students to join universities without investigation of their capabilities through admission tests, and without looking into their previous grades could be disastrous in the long run. To illustrate more thoroughly, permitting students with low grades and poor performance to attend university could have a detrimental effect on the community. My own experience is a compelling example on what I mean. When I was in medical school, our local government started granting licenses for new colleges and universities with no prior inspection for the procedures that happened in these novel institutions. We realized later that these schools do not mind accepting applicants with extremely low GPA. Moreover, when I got to meet a friend from these newly established universities who was studying the same courses that I was taking in my school, I was curious to figure out how things work there. Thus, I asked him about the chapters that were assigned to them in a specific class. Surprisingly, I found out that his curriculum was half of mine. Furthermore, when we ran into each other after graduation, we talked about certain issues in our careers but I was shocked since he was unaware of many principles in the healthcare field to the extent that poses danger to patients and society as a whole. Therefore, I became convinced that schools should put eligibility measures for students and should not accept every student.

On top of that, since the number of spots in universities around the country is limited, it's more convenient and more fair to give priority to outstanding students. For instance, most colleges get several thousands of applications more than their capacity to enroll students and they have to decide which applications to approve and which ones to reject. As a result, most organizations opt for comparing the submitted documents and giving precedence for more qualified students. This process also ensures justice owing to the fact that students under this policy would not feel discriminated against.

To sum up, I firmly believe that attending university should be merit-based for the reasons and details discussed above.