Some people believe that electing a constitutional assembly is the best way to address modifications to the constitution, while others believe that a group of experts should be responsible for this task.

A constitution must reflect a country and its people. So, if a country’s constitution has to be modified this modification will have to be addressed by an assembly elected by these same people. Considering these first statement, it is coherent to say that in the case of Chile, if finally a new constitutions has to be written, an elected constitutional assembly will be probably a better option than a group of experts.

One of the main reasons to make such an affirmation it is related with the origins or roots of democracy itself. The meaning of democracy refers to the power of the demos. That is, the power of the people. In this regard, in the first instance, it seems that an assembly elected by the citizens is closer to that meaning than a group of experts which will be closer to the meaning of aristocracy, that is, a governance of the best. Although it is not easy to find examples that confirm this statement there is a recent case in the region that can serve as a reference. I am talking about the Constitutional Assembly of Ecuador in 2007-2008, who takes place in the town of Montecristi. After a long process, that assembly formed a new constitution that brought stability to the country after several tumultuous and unstable years. The same can be replicated in Chile, although the result will be uncertain.

Other reason to support the formation of a constitutional assembly is related with the problem of representation itself. Nowadays, due to the lost of credibility, confidence, and trust towards politicians and experts in general people is demanding more direct forms of representation in order to have the control of their lives. As a recent survey shows, the 75% of the Chilean citizens want a constitutional assembly, while the 14% support the option of the group of experts. But, beyond this data, the relevant is that more than a half of the population took part during the last year in some form of protest. A fact that indicates that people want to decide and take part in the political decisions.

Concluding, if the Chilean politicians really wants to retrieve the sense of democracy and the confidence of people I think that the best way to solve or to manage the process of a constitutional change will be making the process as direct as possible, so the people see theirs desires, wishes and hopes reflected in a constitution.