Some people believe that students should be given one long vacation each year. Others believe that students should have several short vacations throughout the year. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Use specific reasons and examples to support your choice

Some people believe that students should be given one long break instead of several short vacations and they cite mental fatigue and a big family trip as examples. However, I strongly disagree with this opinion and in my belief, the students should have several short vacations throughout the year. I will provide three reasons for that in subsequent paragraphs.

First of all, short vacations give them a regular break from the hectic curriculum of the school. They can put in their complete effort knowing that they will have a break after the efforts. I will provide my personal experience as an example, when I was in school, we used to have vacation periodically after two months of study. That really helped me my whole effort into the studies and then relax during vacations. Had I not gotten these vacations, I would have never been able to stay motivated for my studies. This is how it is beneficial for students.

Further, if the students take only one vacation in the whole year, they will plan to do so many things during the vacation knowing that they will only get the opportunity once in a year. This can have negative effects on the brain and will make vacations an exhausting experience rather than a revitalizing one. For instance, my brother used to get 30 days vacation, but he was never satisfied with the way vacations went and ended up being jealous of me.

Finally, studies have shown that having regular breaks has many benefits on the functioning of the brain. For example, one recent study showed that the students who take periodic vacation tend to be more active during class, grasp more information, and perform better academically than the students who do not get the breaks. These studies lead me to believe firmly that vacations are an important part of students life and they should be given regular short vacations.

In conclusion, the issue of how vacations should be provided to the students is a complex one. Some people believe that longer vacations provide better opportunities for students to relax. Nevertheless, I still contend that giving students several short vacations throughout the year is the best way to approach this problem.