"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in a

According to the memo from the advertising director of Super Screen Movie Production Company, the number of people turning out to watch the movies in their theatre has plummeted over the past year. The director concludes that the problem lies not in the quality of the movies but in the lack of awareness of the audience and uses the reviews by the movie reviewers to come to this conclusion. Additionally, he recommends to increase the budget allocated to reaching the people through advertising. This recommendation might have some merits but is based on few vague assumptions and puts too much merit into the reviews of the reviewers. To take the action suggested by the director he should answer some serious question regarding the validity of the argument.

First, how credible are the reviewers who have reviewed the movies? Are they in general bit lenient when it comes to movie reviews? Do they have specific interests which aligns with the works of production house? It is possible, that the movies produced by the production house seems really interesting and thought-provoking to the reviewers but remains uninteresting - or esoteric (even worse) - to the general audience. If this turns out to be the case the argument loses its water.

Further, how similar were the conditions in past year in comparison to the years before. It might be the case that the living conditions or tastes of the audience have changed dramatically in that year or there might be some new competitors in the market who are providing better service to the customers which is in turn leading to the decrease in the foot-fall in the production house. If the answers to these questions are negative, the argument will really fall apart.

Finally, what is the current budget allocated to the advertisement? What if the budget is already is very high and according the law of diminishing marginal utility, the addition to the current budget might make any considerable effect to the already very highly targeted audience. The increase in the advertisement budget only makes sense when it is currently wanting. If not, the argument loses its ground.

In conclusion, the argument made by the director - although good - relies on the review of unverified reviewers and makes certain bold assumptions mentioned in the passages above, which have to provided with further evidence to be really considered for the implementation.