Some people believe that technology is making us less human. Others think otherwise, claiming that technology is enhancing our humanities.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The last decade has seen a rapid acceleration when it comes to the speed of automation advancements, and with that acceleration comes intense philosophical debate about the relationship between automated machines and the humanness of the humanity of the future. Personally, I believe that automation will help enhance, rather the suppress, the qualities that make us humans. This is because automation will help facilitate self-discovery and divert our attention to tasks that require qualities automated machines can never possess.

First, by using and developing suitable technologies, humans can use artificial intelligence to discover qualities and feelings they may not be able to see otherwise. This can best be seen in the example of artificial intelligence-based meditation and journalling apps. Meditation and journaling have both long been considered to be useful ways for people to gain better insight into their inner selves. Yet, people shy away from them, because they may see these practices as costly or not beginner-friendly. However, over the past few years, there has been an emergence of AI-based applications and websites for these activities, namely Headspace and Calm for meditation, and Reflectly for journalling. With these apps, people can explore meditation and journalling at little to no cost, thus becoming more willing to get in touch with their inner selves, and affirming something that truly defines what being human means.

Secondly, automated machines can help us redirect our energy and brainpower to solving problems that require skills artificial intelligence can never replicate, rather than wasting time doing menial tasks. More specifically, AI systems can be trained to handle menial or difficult tasks while minimising the margin of error, while the responsibility of major decision-making will still lie in humans. By removing the bane of menial labour, automated systems will encourage humans to utilise qualities unique to humans more, thus "activating" skills that make us human. A notable example of this is how farmers utilise AI systems. By successfully utilising automation, farmers can reduce their time doing laborious tasks like planting seeds, and focus their attention towards other matters, such as deciding what new crops to plant or negotiating deals with agriculture buyers.

However, some people think that automation will make us less human because we will start to become over-reliant of automated systems. Yet, the people who hold this concern often have a fundamental misunderstanding of the nature of AI. No matter how advanced an automated system can become, they can never acquire certain skills, including creativity and critical thinking. The reason for this lies in the nature of AI: all AI systems must be automated and autonomous, but the scopes of their automation and anatomy are determined by humans. In other words, no AI system can learn a new skill without guidance from humans. Because of this limitation, it is impossible for humans to rely on AI for every aspect of their lives. AI may replace menial labour, and it may help us solve problems, but never will it think critically or make decisions the way us humans do.

To conclude, AI systems will aid us in self-reflection and manual labour tasks, open up time for humans to learn and use the unique traits that define humanity. Thus, the emergence of automated systems will not cause the corrosion of our humanness; rather, it will help affirm it and elevate it to a new level.