Some people prefer to attend a university that has fairly small class sizes, while others prefer to attend large institutions that have more lecture-style classes with hundreds of students. Which do you prefer, and why? Support your answer with specific reasons or examples.

Nowadays attending a university is essential to get good job opportunities and look prestigious in the society. The writer is of the view that attending large universities with many students could be more beneficial than the other one due to the more competitive atmosphere and a bigger set of different thoughts compared to smaller ones. Following paragraphs comprehensively explain the reasons.

First and foremost, attending universities with large population could provide a more competitive atmosphere for the students. People usually work harder when they feel that they have a rival and they have to defeat him. For example, I got my B.Sc. degree from a small university where I was not working well because I could be the number one student easily. However, for my M.Sc. degree I moved to a larger university with lots of students. There, I could feel that I have rivals and I have to work hard if I want to keep up with them. Then I had a better performance compared to my B.Sc. degree because of the more competitive atmosphere of the larger educational institute. Consequently, attending an educational institute with larger population can motivate students to improve their performance.

Second, in a larger society people could encounter a wide range of different motions and ideas. Experiencing many different ideas and opinions can make them to develop their thoughts and think in a more comprehensive way. For instance, I remember that on my B.Sc. final project, I was stuck on an issue. Finally, I developed just a simple method to move on. However, in my M.Sc. program whenever I got stuck, other students gave really helpful ideas. I thought about what they gave me and developed very efficient synthesized methods from their thoughts and mine. Therefore, studying in a large educational institute can prepare a wider view and developed thought for the students attending it.

To sum up, attending a large educational institutions can be more beneficial than the smaller ones. That’s due to the fact that in large institutions the competitive atmosphere makes students to work harder. Also, a wide range of different opinions and thoughts can help them to be more creative and think in a broader way.